January 2012 Stats

For the first month of 2012, I biked 153 miles. Again, I think this is the first time I’ve ever biked in a January, so I feel pretty good about it.

Certainly, the mild winter we’ve been having helps. According to my (shoddy) record-keeping, the median temperature for rides have been in the 30s, which have been comfortable for me, so I guess I’m adequately layered. The coldest temperature I’ve biked in so far was 18 F. This was a quick trip to the Metro station in the early morning. The cold air stung my face, but the rest of my body felt relatively fine. I think that if I did a prolonged ride at that temperature, I would not be happy, but I found I could stand it for a short commute.

I suppose the conclusion is that the lowest temperature I would venture out for a ride would depend on the duration of the ride. Sounds obvious, but at least I’m on my way to determining my own threshold.

This entry was posted in Stats. Bookmark the permalink.