Ebb and Flow

Northwest Branch and Trail

There comes a time in a blogger’s life when the blogger has dropped off from posting regularly, and feels compelled to apologize to loyal readers, no matter how minuscule the readership.

It’s been a difficult spring for me. I had somewhat of a mental breakdown last month. It’s been a long time coming, really. Even off the bike, I have a tendency to push myself pretty hard. I’m reminded of my time riding the Urbana 200K– mental toughness may be a virtue in some respects, but it has a boundary, and I crossed it some time ago. I completely fell apart, and am now in the process of rebuilding. It’s going to take a while.

Through it all, I kept biking. That was one of the few bright spots in my life in an otherwise bleak time. I enjoy my daily commute, riding through the woods, watching the trail greening in the warmer weather. I’ve been doing shorter group rides, but I’m having fun with those, too. Being outdoors on my bike rejuvenates me, even though the feeling is sometimes short-lived and disappears once I sit down at my desk.

This is all just to say that I’m sorry I haven’t been writing here regularly, but rest assured that I’m still bicycling. I haven’t given up yet.

This entry was posted in Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ebb and Flow

  1. seanv2 says:

    Sorry you had a tough winter, but I’m glad you’re posting again!

  2. rootchopper says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve been having difficulty. Let me know if I can be of assistance with cycle therapy.

    • Lisa says:

      You already have– Ocean to Bay was the start of my recovery. I’m thinking of riding to Purcellville sometime in June– wanna come along?

  3. spandelles says:

    Sorry you’ve been unwell – glad cycling is still worthwhile for you. I wish you all the best from rainy Yorkshire.

  4. AndrewGills says:

    As someone who’s fallen apart and had to go through the slow process of picking myself up: be gentle with yourself, do what you need to do not what you think others expect of you and remember there’s always at least one positive thing to be found in each day. Sending strength your way

  5. Iron Rider says:

    Lisa,
    I hesitate to give advice but wholeheartedly wish you healing and happiness. The ride is not about the destination it’s about the journey. Hope to see you on the road sometime.

  6. Kirstin says:

    Lisa,
    hope you come around soon. I’ve recently been reading “The Gift of Imperfection” by Brene’ Brown. It’s an excellent read. Happy riding!

  7. Don’t give up. And don’t give up cycling either. I’m glad that cycling has been a bright spot for you, especially in bleak times. I can really relate. So write when you can. We’ll forgive you for not writing regularly if you’ll forgive us for being irregular readers.

Comments are closed.