New Commuter


I saw a deal for this bike, and I couldn’t pass it up.

It’s a Specialized Tricross bike, which I’ve outfitted with dual pedals so that one side is a flat platform that I can use with regular shoes, and the other side has a clipless system that I can use with cleats. The woman who sold me the bike had previously swapped the stock saddle with a Terry. She had warned me that it wasn’t the most comfortable, but it was better than what was on the bike originally.

I took the bike for a spin this morning. It is noticeably lighter than my hybrid was, but not as light as my road bike, but that is to be expected. The gears shift smoothly, and it feels great to be on a drop-handled bike again. The seat, admittedly, isn’t the greatest, but it’s not so bad that I want to swap it out yet.

This will be the bike I will use to commute to work, and for running errands. It’ll also be great for gravel trails. I’m looking forward to a good season with it.

