Mama’s Got a Brand New Bag


I needed a pannier to transport groceries and such– something I could stow in my backpack, which is my short-trip commuting bag of choice, and use to offload heavy items off my back and onto my bike.

Based on the Girl and Her Bike review, I decided to give the Basil Mirte shopping bag a try.


Stylish and sturdy, it fits all the produce from my farmshare comfortably. The bag stays on the bike amidst bumps, does not get in the way of the wheels, and I don’t experience heel strike with it.

I’m really happy with this bag.

8/29: I did experience having the bag get caught in the spokes when I attempted to carry a 30-pound bag of dog food in it. When I moved the bag closer to the front, I then had heel strike. So, there are some limitations. But the bag and the contents made it home in one piece and remained on the bike, so I can’t complain.

