Going With the Flow

I had signed up for the Scenic Schuylkill Century; it was canceled due to flooding from Tropical Storm Lee. Then, I thought I would try to Indian Head 100 as a substitute; it, too, had parts of their route flooded, and it has been rescheduled. I was raring for a long ride, as I hadn’t done one since July.

Luckily, a couple of my good friends were into doing a ride for weekend, so we headed out to Centennial Park and did a long, hilly ride through Howard and Carroll Counties. The bucolic scenery made up for the leaden feeling in my legs on the return route, and miraculously, we missed the storm that was rolling into the area.

Post ride, my legs feel great, but my arms are sore, like I’ve been carrying weights.

What I learned on this ride:
1. As with the other hilly ride, I seem to poop out somewhere around mile 40. I guess I need to do more 40-mile rides to get over this.
2. I need to figure out how to keep a constant speed on long climbs. Maybe that comes with experience.
3. Do not swallow bees. They hurt.
4. Do, however, get more of those Honey Stinger Waffles– they are delicious. (Damn you, Lance!)

My goal for the rest of the year: do at least 2 long rides every month, and work on feeling strong until mile 50.

4 thoughts on “Going With the Flow

  1. Congratulations on your longer ride and well done on missing the rain! Regarding your comment about when you fatigue, I always find that I have a low moment somewhere between miles 50 and 80. Then I keep on pedaling and feel great again. Perhaps what you are experiencing is fatigue, but maybe it’s just your body hitting a wall and pedaling through it. Good luck with the upcoming long rides you choose to do!

Comments are closed.