Keeping Warm

This time last year, I decided to take time off biking. It was too cold and dark for me to continue, I thought, so it was time to spend off the bike.

This year, I’m pushing my limits a little. I’ve decided to bike until December or until the first snowfall sticks, whichever comes later. Last night’s snow didn’t stick here, so I decided to go on a solo ride this morning. It was sunny, around 46F when I headed out.

This is what I wore: a silk baselayer, a long-sleeved jersey, a thermal jersey, thermal tights, a balaclava, a pair of wool socks, and gloves. As long as I kept moving, I felt perfectly comfortable. If I stopped, I was cold. So, I kept pedaling.

It’s only going to get colder, so I’m planning on buying a wool baselayer and a thermal jacket. But so far, it’s good to know that I’m feeling comfortable with what I have to wear.

Some good advice also at Bike Commuters and Bike Winter.

2 thoughts on “Keeping Warm

  1. Hi I am so excited I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  2. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say superb blog!

Comments are closed.