Wanted: Fresh Legs

Panda Fail

Went on another shop ride. Only two other people showed up. I lost them on the first hill. They were very nice and waited for me to catch up, over and over again. One of them apologized for pushing ahead, and assured me that if I keep riding, I’ll get better at keeping up. I hope so. I was so frustrated and tired that I tried very hard not to cry in my tea at the coffee shop after the ride.

It occurs to me that I’m not starting the ride fresh, since I bike about six miles to the bike shop. Six miles doesn’t sound like a lot, but it seems to be enough to tap me out earlier than the rest. So maybe I should consider getting to the shop earlier and resting a bit? I would take the Metro, except they’re doing track work, and I would also take the car, except R often needs it to run weekend errands.

I hate the idea, but I should also consider buying a trainer so that I learn to pedal at a constant rate. I think I tend to coast more than I should, which is fine for commuting, but not for these rides.

And also, I need to work on the panda shots. MG is the queen of the danger panda shots. I still have to work on my technique.

5 thoughts on “Wanted: Fresh Legs

  1. I’m sure you’ve heard it before, but cadence is important. A trainer is not a bad idea, but you can work on maintaining your cadence on any ride and don’t need to do it on a trainer. I used to push big gears, thinking that I’d be faster with less effort. This just wore me out more quickly. It took me many years to figure out that spinning in an easier gear at a consistent cadence results in less fatigue without robbing me of speed.

    • Hi Damien– thanks for writing. Yeah, cadence– yet another thing I know I should consider, yet can’t bring myself to fully attend to it. I do spend more time spinning than mashing, but I don’t keep track of my cadence rate, and I know I should so that I can be consistent about it.

  2. I once used a trainer every night through the winter. When Spring came. I took my road bike outside and I felt like I was on an out of control rocket. I had mid-summer legs but my arms had all but forgotten how to control the bike.

    You could try doing one-footed pedaling on the trainer. It is remarkably hard and forces you to spin efficiently.

    BTW, this is the first time I’ve read your blog. Thumbs up!

    • Good point about the arms! I hadn’t considered that. I’ve heard of one-footed pedaling on the trainer as a technique– I’ll have to give that a try.
      It’s an honor to have you here. Thanks for commenting!

Comments are closed.