Goals for 2011: Mostly Accomplished

As the days grow shorter and the end of the year approaches, I’ve been thinking back on what I’ve accomplished this year. I’ve succeeded in hitting most of the goals I’ve set out for myself.

1. Resume biking in March, and continue through to December, or when the first snowfall sticks, whichever comes later.
I did start biking in March, and although I haven’t yet started this month, I mean to as soon as I can. So I consider this goal done.

2. Bike 1000 miles this year.
To date, I’ve logged 1433.8 miles this year. That’s 55% more than last year. Whew!

3. Participate in more group rides.
I did ride a few rides with Potomac Pedalers, and several shop rides, trying out many of the shops in the area. I’m starting to get the hang of it.

4. Do at least two century rides and a 200 km brevet.
This is the only goal that I didn’t accomplish, but it wasn’t entirely my fault. One ride got canceled because of flooding, the other ride I chose to be with R rather than ride alone. I did ride the brevet– hooray! I’m happy about that.

I’ve learned a lot about bicycling this year. I need to continue to learn. Next up: goals for 2012.

