Today’s Commute

Occasionally, I have to work on Saturdays. I don’t mind it most of the time. The commute is generally quieter, so I find I enjoy riding in more.

Some thoughts that crossed my mind as I rode into work:

-It took me 56 minutes from door to door today. So I hate to say it, but I think it’s the bike.
-I’m thinking of ditching my dual-sided clipless pedals on my commuter bike. I find it annoying to be constantly clipping and unclipping at the numerous traffic lights.
-I’m really loving my Arkel Switchback. In addition to my usual haul that I had described in my previous post, I’ve discovered that I can carry a set of work clothes as well. However, my lunch bag doesn’t quite fit as comfortably, so I need to work around that.
-My new (to me) route that I take to work is more enjoyable. It’s fairly calm, even on weekdays, and only moderately hilly. It’s not as direct as the route I usually take, but I think it’s worth it. I’m not as sweaty and tired as I usually am.
-I am going to hit 1000 miles for the year this evening. That’s 4 months earlier than last year. wow.

Hope you’re having a great day. It’s really nice outside here.

5 thoughts on “Today’s Commute

  1. Which bike was it? More importantly, should it really matter? If you have the means (a reliable bike, a safe route etc.) and the will to ride to work then whether one bike is 6 or 15 min faster over an hour long ride is not a big deal. The bike that makes the commute easier or possible more often is the big deal. I have a folder (a Brompton) and it is mintues slower over an hour long commute and has 3 gears BUT it allows me to bike commute more often and riding hills with only 3 gears has made me a stronger rider. The additional minutes on the commute is not a problem, its just more bike time.

    • It matters in the sense that I need to get to work on time, and that I need to adjust my daily routine to accommodate it in order to make it to work. 5-10 minutes’ difference wouldn’t be a big deal; 15 minutes or more means I need to re-think what I do in the morning. Of course, that’s not an impossible thing to do, but I would rather not change more things than I already have at this point– my mornings are already difficult.

      The 3-geared Curve would indeed make me a stronger rider if it doesn’t kill me first.
      Your point on what makes the commute possible more often is well taken, and that’s what I’m trying to figure out currently. Which bike I use is a critical factor in making that decision.

      You have more bikes than I thought you did! I thought you only had the Surly.

  2. You certainly know your schedule better than me, so of course I must defer to you on the significance of leaving 15 minutes earlier to make a change in your commute that would help you to pursue your biking goals. But I can’t help but think of people I have met who leave their homes extra early to work in a 30 mile/ 2 hour bike commute. That amount of time and distance is more than I do or probably would do, but it tells me that time is really not an obstacle if you want to find a way to do something like that. Good luck with your search to find a way.

    As for bikes, I have more than two . . . šŸ˜‰

  3. I commute also, but in the Baltimore area. For pedals I use 4 sided Crank Brothers Egg Beaters. I can easily get into them without looking and they have several models with varying pricing (I have nothing to do with the company, I just like the pedals). I commute 13 moderately hilly miles and it takes about 55 minutes. I do this on an old Bianchi Eros road bike. It’s racer styled.

Comments are closed.