Back in the Saddle Again

It’s been a while since I’ve done a group ride. June was a little hectic for me for several reasons, so biking wasn’t the first thing on my mind. This weekend was the first time this summer to actually get a ride in, so I seized the opportunity. I went on the City Bikes Ladies Ride.

The ride starts at 10:30 am, which is, for me, a respectable time to begin. I got a decent amount of sleep, ate a good breakfast (oatmeal with my favorite toppings), drank some water, and was pretty much well prepared when I went out the door and rode to the shop.

There were five of us who rode, including the ride leader. I was keeping the pace and feeling pretty good, until we did a sprint. Even that wasn’t so bad– I was far behind, but I wasn’t out of sight of the front.

Unfortunately, after the sprint, I developed a wicked case of heartburn, which lasted for the rest of the ride and all the way home. It was so bad that I got dropped from the pack and couldn’t recover, and the ride leader at one point had to go back and find me. I think the heartburn was caused by the electrolyte solution I added to my water– I think I put too much in for the amount of water I put in my Camelbak. I’ll measure it out more precisely and put less in next time. At least I didn’t cramp at all!

I was disappointed with my performance, but quite pleased with the ride in general. I felt like the overall pace was manageable for me– just enough to be challenging, but not so far out of my range to be discouraging. And the women I rode with were friendly, too. After the ride, we went to a coffee shop and chatted for a while. That was nice.

I think this may be my go-to training ride for the season.

9 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle Again

    • Hi Trish! According to the ride leader yesterday, she said our average speed was 15.5 mph. The rides are supposed to be between 13-16 mph average. They’re really great about regrouping and making sure no one gets left behind, so if you’re interested, you should try it out!

    • It’s from the Adams Morgan location– we did about 27 miles that day. I think they try to keep the rides to around 2 hours. There’s also a Saturday ride starting at 9:30 am at the Capitol Hill location. Info is on their Facebook page.

  1. Pingback: Lull | The Rambling Rider

  2. Pingback: Lessons Learned From the Hoppy | The Rambling Rider

Comments are closed.