Goals 2013 and Future Rides

I was trying to think of what goals I wanted to accomplish for the coming year. The only goal that would be different from last year would be to try to reach 3000 miles– but that’s kind of arbitrary and I don’t know if I’ll get there just by setting it as a goal. Instead, I think it would be more fun to list the rides I would like to do next year. So, here’s the list of new rides for me:

WABA Vasa Ride. (see last year’s description). I’ve never done this ride, and it sounds like fun. Also, blueberry soup!

C&O/GAP Trails. A group of us have been talking about doing the ride from Pittsburgh back to DC in the fall. We’ll see if we can get this together.

Hains Point Loops training. I won’t be able to go to the Hains Point 100, but I do want to try riding the loop on a regular basis for training.

Spinning! Based on recommendations of some friends, I want to try a spinning class at least once, just to see what it’s like.

Cyclocross! I at least want to watch a race next year, if nothing else. Cyclocross season always seems to sneak up on me.

In rides that I’ve done before, I’ve signed up for the Ocean to Bay Ride. I will most likely do the entire 50 States Ride, possibly the Potomac Pedalers Spring Century. I want to do at least one hilly 200K (help), maybe one 300K if I’m feeling up to it.

Are there any rides you’re doing next year that you think I should do? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Goals 2013 and Future Rides

  1. Good list. I have done the Halvasa (the 30+ mile verison of Vasa) many times. I’ve also done most of the C&O and GAP trails and LOVE them. If you want a flat spring century, there is one on the Eastern shore called the Six Pillars ride. I did the metric a few years ago. Hope to see you on the roads many times in ’13

  2. When is registration available for the Vasa ride. I thought it was supposed to be on Sunday, March 3rd, but I haven’t seen any registration info on the WABA website.

    • Sorry– I don’t know. I would suggest signing up for the online WABA newsletter at waba.org so that you can be notified when the registration opens.

Comments are closed.