Vacation Ramblings

Isle La Motte
R and I talked about bringing our bikes on our vacation. As it turned out, my shifter cables decided to explode and fray the day that we were going to leave. I had to leave my bike at the shop.

We ended up renting a couple of bikes on the first day, and rolled around the islands. One day was enough for R. I couldn’t help but notice bicycles and infrastructure throughout the week. Bikes were common in Montreal, and there were painted bike lanes, bike lanes with a concrete barrier separating them from cars, and sharrows. We saw all sorts of bikers– from the spandex-clad racing up Mont Royal, to the commuters in regular clothing riding from one part of the city to another. I did not see any conflicts with bicyclists and drivers while I was there, and it seemed like biking was simply another accepted mode of transportation.

Burlington Bikeway
I noticed the trails in Burlington, VT and in Northampton, MA. Beautiful day for a leisure ride, and again a good mix of sporty bikers and commuters.

I realize the obvious consequence that the more I bike, the more I notice biking around me. That’s a good thing. It’s a part of my life, and I’m happy to see it’s a part of other people’s lives where I’ve traveled as well.

3 thoughts on “Vacation Ramblings

  1. For any reason.. For any number of reasons.. Biking does indeed become part of one’s life.. part of one’s life-style. 🙂

  2. It’s remarkable how often a part fails on your bike in the days immediately preceeding a big event. Happened twice to me this year. Nice post and happy cycling!

  3. Being just back from a bike tour around Lake Champlain that took us through Vermont and New York I am very impressed with what a difference it makes when states and communities truly commit to cycling infrastructure. We didn’t get honked at or hollered at. For the most part drivers were patient and even spontaneously helpful. Says a lot about what cycling is like around here that I was pleasantly surprised by this.

Comments are closed.