Soupaneuring #1-2

The Soupaneuring Challenge:
1. Ride six rides for soup between November 29 and January 11.
2. A ride is 2 miles or more. A soup is however you define it.
3. One ride per week (with the exception of a one-week waiver).
4. Have soup, take a photo.

And away we go!

Soupaneuring #1
Soupaneuring #1
work cafeteria
Tempura Udon
December 5, 2013
8 miles
Rode to work, had soup for lunch. The cafeteria has a station for noodle soups with either udon or rice noodles, and your choice of protein and vegetables. More often than not, I get shrimp tempura with broccoli, carrots, and bean sprouts, topped with scallions and hot sauce. The gentleman who makes the soup is always nice to me. It’s a good lunch, as far as cafeteria food goes.

Soupaneuring #2
Soupaneuring #2 (sorry for the blurry photo)
Ten Ren’s Tea Time
Shredded Pork with Rice Noodle Soup
December 11, 2013
2.87 miles
I’ve passed by this place many times and have always wanted to try it. I meant to go here for coffeeneuring, but I didn’t get a chance to, so I made up for it by getting soup *and* tea. The tea is a hot coconut milk bubble tea, although I think it was coconut flavoring and milk, instead of coconut milk, much to my dismay. The soup was improved with some hot sauce. Today was a chilly day, so the soup and tea hit the spot.

Getting here was a little bit of an adventure, as I took a route suggested by Google Maps, only to discover that a portion of the trail was unpaved– very muddy, a little rocky, and icy in patches. I wasn’t expecting this. I didn’t have knobby tires, nor did I really have the skills to navigate this, so I went very slowly and hopped on and off the bike whenever I felt like I was losing control. It looked like this was a well-trafficked route, so I did some investigating. It turns out that this is part of the Rhode Island Avenue Trolley Trail. I didn’t know this was here– it was quite a find.

2 thoughts on “Soupaneuring #1-2

Comments are closed.