Running

Shoes

Little known fact: I used to run track in high school. It was the only sport offered that didn’t have tryouts, and I thought it would look good on my transcript or something. I was really bad at it. I mostly ran sprints, slowly. I felt like I was going to die, even at that distance.

In my junior year, I sprained my ankle badly during practice, and it’s never been right ever since. I used to sprain that ankle every other year, and it got to the point where being hobbled would depress me. I fell badly on my other ankle during martial arts practice a few years ago. After weeks of physical therapy, I used prescription ankle braces whenever I practiced. But I always felt unstable on my feet.

I quit running and martial arts. I took up bicycling. I discovered that I’m no faster a bicyclist than a runner, but I had fun biking.

This summer, however, I did the 30 Days of Change regimen. Part of the regimen included some running. I started out dreading it, but by the end, I discovered I actually enjoyed it. And that made me think– what if I tried running again?

I set my sights on a 5K– a distance I’ve never run before. I’m doing a Couch-to-5K program with R, with the goal of doing a race on Thanksgiving Day. Miraculously, we are past the halfway point in our training. I run with a brace, and so far (knock on wood), it’s worked out well. I’m still not fast, but at least I don’t feel like I’m going to pass out or fall over.

I’ve noticed, too, that my biking seems to be less labored. My hill climbing seems to have improved. Perhaps there are benefits to cross-training after all.

I’ll write a full report on the race. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Running

  1. Pingback: Trot for Hunger 5K 2014 | Rambling Rider

Comments are closed.