Tour de Cookie 2015

Stop 3: Random Acts of Cookies

If there’s one thing you should know about me, it’s that I love cookies. When I heard that there was a ride called the Tour de Cookie, there was no question that I had to take part.

The ride benefits The Tree House Child Assessment Center, an organization devoted to preventing child abuse. There is an 11-mile ride for families, and a more challenging 42-mile ride. There are cookie stands along the way, hosted by various local organizations.

Stop 4: Mom's Cookies

I rode the longer ride with my usual riding buddy Rootchopper, and with TurtleDub. This route had 11 cookie stands along the way; we chose to stop at six of them. My favorite cookie was the chewy ginger cookie from Mom’s Cookies (who also had the best variety of cookies), but my favorite stop was the Girl Scouts. Some of the girls were dressed as Girl Scout cookies, and the kids very politely asked us if they could fill our water bottles, which was very thoughtful.

Eating only cookies got me through the whole ride. However, by the fifth stop, I was starting to get into a sugar fog and I didn’t want to eat any more cookies. (That’s a first for me.) Perhaps I should have just put them in my pannier and had some for later.

The ride itself was okay– my legs gave out shortly after the halfway mark, and my quads were burning throughout most of the climb up River Road. I also forgot to use my inhaler until then as well, so my breathing was rather labored in the first half. The last eleven miles were on the Carl Henn Millennium Trail, which I think is a great trail for commuting around Rockville, but not the most scenic trail in some spots. If I do this ride in the future, I may skip the trail loop and go back to the start at the 30-mile mark.

We arrived at the finish line a few minutes before they closed up shop, so we missed most of the festivities at the end. I was full from the cookies, so I wasn’t hungry anyway.

Many thanks to the volunteers, cookie stand participants, and the Tree House for making this ride possible. And of course, thanks to Rootchopper and TurtleDub for being such excellent company.

My very small Flickr set is here.

One thought on “Tour de Cookie 2015

  1. Pingback: Cookies for a Cause | A Few Spokes Shy of a Wheel

Comments are closed.